2020-21 Hearst Multimedia Innovative Storytelling & Audience Engagement Competition Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Multimedia Innovative Storytelling & Audience
Engagement Competition of the 2020-2021 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 49 entries from 34 schools submitted in the second multimedia competition of the academic year.

First Place has been awarded to Alex Kim, from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Alex receives a $3,000 scholarship for the winning multimedia piece titled “Superhuman.” Alex is a spring 2020 graduate and, per program guidelines, is not eligible to participate in the Championship.

Second-place winner, Kate DeBlasis, from the University of Maryland, earns a $2,000 award and qualifies to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards National Multimedia Championship which will be held this June.

The other top finalists are:

Third place, $1,500 award, Sam Mallon, Western Kentucky University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Chris Kohley,  Western Kentucky University

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Marjorie Anne Foster, Elon University

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:

Sixth Place, certificate, Matthew Westmoreland, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Seventh Place, certificate, Christian Cangiano, Stony Brook University

Eighth Place, certificate, Denisse Machado Taboada, Florida International University
Ninth Place, certificate, Jennifer Alvarez, Arizona State University
Tenth Place, certificate, Sam Ogozalek, Syracuse University

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is in first place in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first two multimedia competitions.
They are followed by: Western Kentucky University; University of Missouri; Syracuse University; San Francisco State University; Stony Brook University; University of Maryland; University of Florida; New York University; Elon University.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively. The final intercollegiate winners will be announced after the completion of the all four multimedia competitions in May.

The multimedia judges are: Danese Kenon, Director of Video and Photography, Philadelphia Inquirer, PA;
Jarrad Henderson, Senior Multimedia Producer – Investigative and Enterprise Video Team, USA Today, VA; Meredith Hogan, Senior Creative Producer, Red Element Studios, WA.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 61st year, added multimedia to the competitions in 2010. The program also includes five writing, one audio, two television, and two photojournalism competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 103 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are
eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.

One thought on “2020-21 Hearst Multimedia Innovative Storytelling & Audience Engagement Competition Winners Announced”

  1. Pingback: Elon University / Today at Elon / With award-winning research, Marjorie Anne Foster ’19 seeks to create bridge between different religious traditions

Comments are closed.