2020-21 Hearst Sports Writing Winners Announced

San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college sports writing have been announced in the 61st annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 103 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate. There were 123 sports writing entries submitted from 67 universities in our third writing competition of this academic year.

First Place has been awarded to  Caleb Coffman, a senior from Indiana University. Caleb receives a $3,000 scholarship for the winning article titled “The General’s Shadow: How author John Feinstein survived a year with Bob Knight ” published in the Indiana Daily Student. Caleb also qualifies to participate in the 2021 Hearst National Writing Championship this June.

Indiana University’s Department of Journalism will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Other scholarship winners are:
Luke Mullin, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, second place, $2,000 scholarship
Allison Ingrum, Syracuse University, third place, $1,500 scholarship
Natalie Parks, University of Kentucky, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship
Michael Gutnick, Arizona State University, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth-through-tenth place winners earn Hearst certificates:
Max Baker, University of Missouri, sixth place, certificate
Parth Upadhyaya, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, seventh place, certificate
Adam Cole, University of Missouri, eighth place, certificate
Drake Keeler, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, ninth place, certificate
Joe Levin, University of Texas at Austin, tenth place, certificate

Syracuse University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first three of five writing competitions held this year.

They are followed by: Drake University, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, University of Missouri, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Indiana University, University of Kentucky, Arizona State University, University of Florida, Brigham Young University.

The final intercollegiate winners will be announced after the completion of all five writing competitions in June. The top three winning schools will earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

Judging the writing competitions this year are: Dwayne Bray, Journalist-at-large, ESPN’s The Undefeated; Larry Kramer, retired President and Publisher, USA Today; and Maria Reeve, Managing Editor, Houston Chronicle.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. 103 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.

The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one audio, two television and
four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $700,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

# # #