2018-19 Hearst Radio Winners Named


The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the finalists selected in the 2018-2019 Journalism Awards Program’s radio news and features competition. The top five radio winners qualify for the National Radio Championship this June, along with qualifying television, writing, photojournalism and multimedia finalists.

The top five radio winners who qualify for the National Championship:
First Place, $3,000 award, Megan Cain, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Second Place, $2,000 award, Brighton McConnell, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Third Place, $1,500 award, Austin Westfall, Arizona State University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Dolores Hinckley, University of Florida
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Aviva Okeson-Haberman, University of Missouri

The schools of all award-winning finalists receive matching grants.

Radio Finalists:
Sixth Place, Certificate, Elias Imadali, University of Montana
Seventh Place, Certificate, Maddie Biertempfel, Pennsylvania State University
Eighth Place, Certificate, Karina Gonzalez, University of Nevada, Reno
Ninth Place, Certificate, Victor Onimole, University of New Mexico
Tenth Place, Certificate, Haley Butler, University of Texas at Austin

After the TV 1 and Radio competitions, University of Florida has placed first in the Intercollegiate Broadcast Competition with the highest accumulated student points. They are followed by: University of Missouri; Arizona State University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Pennsylvania State University; Syracuse University; University of Texas at Austin; University of Nevada, Reno; University of Montana (tie); University of New Mexico (tie).

Final intercollegiate scores will be announced after TV2 has been finalized. The top three winning schools earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The radio judges are: Julie Chin, News Director, KNX Radio, CA; Lloyd Siegel, former Vice President of News Partnerships, NBC News, NY; and Fred Young, retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst Television Inc., PA.

The 59th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program, added broadcast news to the competitions in 1988. The program also includes five writing, two television, two photo, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.

104 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.