2018-19 Hearst Enterprise Writing Winners Named


San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college enterprise writing were announced today in the 59th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 104 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.
There were 129 entries from 72 schools received in the second writing competition of the academic year.

First Place has been awarded to Anna Spoerre, from Southern Illinois University, Carbondale. Anna receives a $3,000 scholarship for her winning article titled “University hires chancellor’s daughter, son-in-law” published in The Daily Egyptian.

Anna was a spring 2018 graduate and per program guidelines, is not eligible to participate in the 2019 Championship. Second-place winner Michael Tobin, University of Oregon, advances to participate in the National Championship held in San Francisco this June.

Southern Illinois University, Carbondale’s School of Journalism will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Second-to-tenth place winners:
Michael Tobin, University of Oregon, second place, $2,000 scholarship
Matt Neuman, University of Montana, third place, $1,500 scholarship
Chris McCrory, Arizona State University, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship
Rebecca Liebson, Stony Brook University, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

Sixth-through-tenth place winners receiving certificates of merit are:
Lydia Gerike, Indiana University, sixth place
Emma Collins, Western Kentucky University, seventh place
Alison Kuznitz, Pennsylvania State University, eighth place
Eduardo Medina, Auburn University, ninth place
Rick Childress, University of Kentucky, tenth place

Indiana University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the first two writing competitions of the year. They are followed by: Arizona State University; University of Oregon; Pennsylvania State University; Auburn University; University of Arkansas, Fayetteville; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Southern Illinois University, Carbondale; University of Kentucky; University of Montana.

The final intercollegiate writing winners will be announced after the completion of the five writing competitions and presented at the Intercollegiate Awards Presentation in San Francisco this June.

Judging the writing competitions this year are: Audrey Cooper, Editor in Chief, The San Francisco Chronicle; Dwayne Bray, Senior Coordinating Producer/Enterprise Reporting Unit, ESPN; and David Zeeck, former President and Publisher, The News Tribune, WA.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two television and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $700,000 in scholarships and grants annually.