2018-19 Hearst Photojournalism I Winners Named


San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Photojournalism I– Features and News Competition of the 2018-2019 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

The winners were selected from 128 entries submitted from 77 schools nationwide. In a recent addition to the program guidelines, the first-place winner automatically qualifies for the National Photojournalism Championship which will be held in San Francisco next June. The other top winners in this competition, along with the top
finalists in the next photo competition, will submit additional photographs for the semi-final round of judging next April.

Finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the National Championship, along with writing, radio,
television and multimedia finalists.

First Place has been awarded to Gabriel Scarlett from Western Kentucky University.
Gabriel wins a $3,000 scholarship and qualifies for the National Photojournalism Championship.

Other top winners who qualify for the semi-final round:
Second Place, $2,000 award, Becca Slezak, Ball State University
Third Place, $1,500 award, Josephine Norris, Central Michigan University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Jason Armond, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, James Year, University of Iowa *
Sixth Place, certificate, Brian Muñoz, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale

* James Year is a spring 2018 graduate and per the program guidelines, may not participate in the semi-finals.

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The seventh- through-tenth place finalists are:
Seventh Place, certificate, Arden Barnes, University of Kentucky
Eighth Place, certificate, Alex Kormann, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Ninth Place, certificate, Michael Blackshire, Western Kentucky University
Tenth Place, certificate, Joel Angel Juárez, San Francisco State University

Western Kentucky University is in first place in the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first of two photo competitions.

It is followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: Ball State University; Ohio University; Central Michigan University; University of Iowa; University of Kentucky; Southern Illinois University, Carbondale; Arizona State
University; San Francisco State University. The final Intercollegiate winners are announced in April. The top three
intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The photojournalism judges are: Erin Lubin, freelance photographer, San Francisco; Dai Sugano, Staff
Photographer/Senior Multimedia Editor, The Mercury News; and Jose Luis Rios, Director of Photography,
San Antonio Express-News.

The 59th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program, added photojournalism to the competitions in 1970. The
program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 104 universities of the Association of Schools of
Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to
participate in the Hearst competitions.