2018-19 Hearst Feature Writing Winners Named


San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college feature writing were announced today in the 59th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 104 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate. 155 feature writing entries were received in this competition from 85 schools.

First Place has been awarded to LAUREL DEMKOVICH, a senior from Indiana University. Laurel receives a $3,000 scholarship for her winning article titled “The Pride of Paoli” published in IDSnews.com. Laurel also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship which will be held this June in San Francisco.

Indiana University’s School of Journalism will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Other scholarship winners are:
Jacob Steinberg, University of Minnesota, second place, $2,000 scholarship

Catherine Shackelford, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, third place, $1,500 scholarship

Eduardo Medina, Auburn University, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship

Myah Ward, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receiving certificates of merit are:
Aydali Campa Lopez, Arizona State University, sixth place

Kiana Cole, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, seventh place

Katie Grieze, Ball State University, eighth place

Hannah Boufford, Indiana University, ninth place

Hannah Neumann, Baylor University, tenth place

Indiana University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the first writing competition of the year. They are followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Arkansas, Fayetteville; Arizona State University; University of Minnesota; Auburn University; University of Kentucky; University of Oregon; Pennsylvania State University; Baylor University.

The final intercollegiate writing winners will be announced after the completion of the five writing competitions.

Judging the writing competitions this year are: Audrey Cooper, Editor in Chief, The San Francisco Chronicle; David Zeeck, President and Publisher, The News Tribune, WA, and, Dwayne Bray, Senior Coordinating Producer/Enterprise Reporting Unit, ESPN.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two television and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $700,000 in scholarships and grants annually.