2017 Hearst Multimedia IV — Team Reporting Competition Winners Named


The top ten winners in the 2015-2016 college multimedia team reporting are announced in the 56th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 108 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate. There were 72 team entries from 45 schools received in this competition.

First Place has been awarded to team members Dillon Deaton, Kira Dalman, Alexis Barnes, and Janell Smith from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, for their entry titled “The Watchman” published on Undercurrent360.com. They will receive a $2,600 scholarship. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s School of Media and Journalism receives a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Other winning multimedia teams:

2nd place, $2,000 award, team members: Kyle Hentchel, Srushti Kamat, Key Higdon, Judd Smith, Kylie Juggert, and Mackenzie Moran, University of Oregon

3rd place, $1,500 award, team members: Alyssa May, James Wooldridge, Calla Kessler, Amber Baesler, Jake Crandall, Lauren Brown-Hulme, Natascha Rausch, Vanessa Daves, Matt Hanson, Marcela Mercer, and Chris Bowling, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

4th place, 4th Place, $1,000 award, team members: Molly Biker, Socorro Carillo, Courtney Pedroza, Elizabeth Hanson, and Anna Copper, Arizona State University

5th place, $1,000 award, team members: Michel Noble Jr. and Mie Hee Christensen, Western Kentucky University

6th place, Claire Collins, Cole McCauley, Madison Walls, Lindsay Carbonell, Rob Gourley, Dillon Deaton, Alex Kormann, and Vijay Rajkumar, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

7th place, James Wooldridge and Mara Klecker, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

8th place, Emily Mahoney, Agnel Philip, Gabriel Sandler, Clara Benitez, Ryan Santistevan, Ben Moffat Claire Cleveland, Johanna Huckeba, Joshua Bowling, and Jenny Ung, Arizona State University

9th place, Sawyer Smith and Kendall Norwood, Western Kentucky University

10th place, Tailyr Irvine, Kathleen Stone, Matt Roberts, Olivia Vanni, Kira Vercruyssen, Zoie Koostra, Tailyr Irvine, Lailani Upham, Taylor Crews, Corey Hockett, Anna Reid and Maddie Vincent, University of Montana

Western Kentucky University has won the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the four multimedia competition held this year.
Western Kentucky University is followed by:
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
University of Florida
San Francisco State University
Arizona State University
University of Missouri
Pennsylvania State University
Northwestern University
University of Oregon

The top three winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively, and will receive their award checks at the Intercollegiate Awards Dinner in San Francisco during the National Championships.

The Multimedia judges are Tiffany Campbell, Managing Editor, Digital, WBUR 90.9, www.wbur.org;
Kenny Irby, Independent Visual Consultant, FL; and Mark Morris, Senior Editor/Multimedia, The Sacramento Bee.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 57th year, added multimedia to the competitions in 2010. The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and two photojournalism competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 106 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.