2017 Championship Qualifiers Named


The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the 29 journalism students from across the country who will compete in the 57th annual National Writing, Photojournalism, Radio, Television and Multimedia Championships held in San Francisco, May 29 – June 2, 2017.

The finalists include eight writing finalists, six photojournalism finalists, five radio finalists, five television finalists and four multimedia finalists chosen from the monthly competitions, selected from a record 1,267 entries received this year. At the Championships, the finalists will participate in various spot assignments chosen by our judges, competing for additional scholarship awards ranging from $1,500 to $5,000.

The 2017 National Championship Finalists are:

Hannah Alani, Indiana University
Chris Bowling, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Lauren Brown-Hulme, University Nebraska-Lincoln
Jordan Guskey, Indiana University
Nicolás Rivero, Northwestern University
Nathan Ruiz, Oklahoma State University
Taylor Telford, Indiana University
Carter Walker, Pennsylvania State University

Alex Driehaus, Ohio University
Harrison Hill, Western Kentucky University
Joel Angel Juárez, San Francisco State University
Calla Kessler, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Gabriel Scarlett, Western Kentucky University
Mac Snyder, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

J McAuliffe, Arizona State University
Jessica O’Connor, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Caitlin Switalski, University of Florida
John Thomas, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Carter Woodiel, University of Missouri

Adriana De Alba, Arizona State University
Jesse Kirsch, Northwestern University
Maggie Lorenz, University of Florida
Brad Streicher, University of Southern California
Cole Sullivan, University of Southern California

Claire Collins, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Drea Cornejo, University of Florida
Ryan McNulty, San Francisco State University
Casey Toth, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Alyse Young, Western Kentucky University

Presently, 106 colleges and universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools are eligible to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program. Funded and administered for 57 years by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation, the Journalism Program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships, grants and stipends annually.