2017 Hearst Breaking News Writing Competition Winners Named

San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college breaking news writing were announced today in the 57th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 106 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate. There were 93 breaking news articles received from 58 journalism schools in this competition.

First Place has been awarded to Hannah Alani, a recent graduate of Indiana University. Hannah will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her winning article titled “Daniel Messel receives 80 years for murder of Hannah Wilson” published in the Indiana Daily Student. Indiana University’s School of Journalism will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. Hannah also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship which will be held May 29 – June 2, 2017 in San Francisco.

Other scholarship winners are:
Carter Walker, Pennsylvania State University, second place, $2,000 scholarship
C Jackson Cowart, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, third place, $1,500 scholarship
Charlene Santiago, Arizona State University, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship
Andrew Dunn, University of Maryland, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receiving certificates of merit are:
Sarah Taylor, Middle Tennessee State University, sixth place
Tommy Hamzik, Elon University, seventh place
Natasha Rausch, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, eighth place
Jason Tidd, Kansas State University, ninth place
Kyle Constable, University of Connecticut, tenth place

Indiana University has won the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the five writing competitions held this year. They are followed by: University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Pennsylvania State University; Oklahoma State University; University of Maryland; Syracuse University; University of Montana; University of Missouri; Northwestern University and Arizona State University. All top ten intercollegiate schools receive medallions. The first-through-third-place school winners receive $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

Judging the writing competitions this year are: Nicole Carroll, Vice President/News and Editor, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com; Audrey Cooper, Editor in Chief, The San Francisco Chronicle; and David Zeeck, Publisher, The News Tribune, WA.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two television and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.