2017-18 Hearst Personality/Profile Writing Winners Named


San Francisco – The top 10 winners in personality/profile writing were announced today in the 58th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 105 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate. 114 entries were received in this competition from 61 schools.

First Place has been awarded to JACK EVANS from Indiana University. Jack receives a $3,000 scholarship for his winning article titled “The man in black” published in Indiana Daily Student.

Indiana University’s Department of Journalism will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. Jack also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship which will be held this June in San Francisco.

Other scholarship winners are:
Nyssa Kruse, Indiana University, second place, $2,000 scholarship
Alison Kuznitz, Pennsylvania State University, third place, $1,500 scholarship
Kiana Cole, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship,
Emily Kohlman, Pennsylvania State University, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receiving certificates of merit are:
Fatima Tul-Farha, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, sixth place
Sam Fortier, Syracuse University, seventh place
Joe Buettner, University of Oklahoma, eighth place
Robyn Feinberg, University of Nevada, Reno, ninth place
Justin Mattingly, Syracuse University, tenth place

Indiana University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the four writing competitions held so far. They are followed by: Pennsylvania State University; Syracuse University (tie); University of Nebraska-Lincoln (tie); Western Kentucky University; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Arizona State University (tie); University of Florida (tie); University of Oregon.

The final intercollegiate standings will be determined after the completion of the five writing competitions.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two television and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $700,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competitions this year are: Audrey Cooper, Editor in Chief, The San Francisco Chronicle; David Zeeck, President and Publisher, The News Tribune, WA, and Wendell Jamieson, former Metro Editor, The New York Times.