2017-18 Hearst Multimedia IV-Team Reporting News Winners Named


The top ten winners in the 2017-2018 college multimedia team reporting/news are announced in the 58th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program.
There were 79 team entries from 45 schools received in this competition.

First Place has been awarded to team members from Western Kentucky University: Gabriel Scarlett, Michael Blackshire, Fahad Alotaibi, Shaban Athuman, for their entry titled “Broken Branches” published in WPUJ.com. They will receive a $3,000 scholarship.
Western Kentucky University’s School of Journalism receives a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Other winning multimedia teams:
Second place, $2,000 award, University of Florida team members:
Drea Cornejo, Briana Erickson, Caitie Switalski, Tamara Dobry, Danielle Chanzes, Merrett Fay, Grace King, Jordyn Heck, Desirae Lee, Maddy McKay, Thomas Moseley, Maya Punjwani, Chris Totzke, Danielle Veenstra, Rachel Wang, Sophia Zayas, Bailey LeFever

Third place, $1,500 award, Syracuse University team members:
Brian Cereijo, Jacob Gedetsis

Fourth place, $1,000 award, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill team members:
Darian Woehr, Ben Aijian, Emily Yue, Nicole Basille, Lindsay Carbonell, Danielle Wallace

Fifth place, $1,000 award, San Francisco State University team members:
Travis Wesley, Jake Tellkamp, Christianna Fjelstad, Ian Williams

Sixth place, Iowa State University team members:
Emily Blobaum, Whitney Mason

Seventh place, Western Kentucky University team members:
Justin Gilliand, Brittiny Moore

Eighth place, University of Oregon team members:
Ty Boespflug, Srushti Kamat, Cheyenne Thorpe, Jeff Dean, KJ Hellis, Kaylee Domzalski, Paige Harkless

Ninth place, University of Oregon team members:
Anna Rath, Megan Rouse, Ty Boespflug, Jeff Dean, Tim Vandehey, Topacio Beerhalter,Justin Hartney, Becky Hoag, Abigail Winn, Morgan Krakow, Jessica Douglas, Jacob Smith, Qiongyao Shao, Ted Chen, Cheyenne Thorpe

Tenth place, University of Nebraska-Lincoln team members:
James Wooldridge and Merika Andrade

Western Kentucky University has won the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the four multimedia competition held this year.
Western Kentucky University is followed by:
Second Place: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Third Place: University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Fourth Place: University of Florida
Fifth Place: Syracuse University
Sixth Place: Pennsylvania State University
Seventh Place: University of Oregon
Eighth Place: University of Missouri
Ninth Place: San Francisco State University
Tenth Place: University of Montana

The top three winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively, and will receive their award checks at the Intercollegiate Awards Dinner in San Francisco during the National Championships.

The Multimedia judges are Kenny Irby, Independent Visual Consultant, FL; and Mark Morris, former Senior Editor/Multimedia, The Sacramento Bee; Brian Storm, Founder & Executive Director, MediaStorm.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 58th year, added multimedia to the competitions in 2010. The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and two photojournalism competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 105 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.

One thought on “2017-18 Hearst Multimedia IV-Team Reporting News Winners Named”

  1. Pingback: WKU SJ&B wins first place in 2017-18 Hearst awards – The Herald

Comments are closed.