2017-18 Hearst Multimedia I – Features Competition Winners Named


San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Multimedia I/Narrative Storytelling – Features Competition of the 2017-2018 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 76 entries from 44 schools submitted in the first multimedia competition of the year.

First Place has been awarded to Avery Peterson, from San Francisco State University. Avery will receive a $3,000 scholarship for the winning multimedia piece titled “In Storage” published in Xpress News. Avery graduated in the spring of 2017, and per our guidelines, is not eligible to participate in the National Multimedia Championship which is held in San Francisco, June 3-7, 2018.

The second-place winner, Tyler Schank from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, earns a $2,000 scholarship for her piece, “For Ugandan children with albinism, skin is a curse” published in NewsNetNebraska.com. Tyler qualifies for the Championship.

The other top finalists are:
Third place, $1,500 award, Serena Ajbani, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Sawyer Smith, Western Kentucky University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Adam Warner, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth through tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Abby Igoe, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Seventh Place, certificate, Drea Cornejo, University of Florida
Eighth Place, certificate, Nick Wagner, Western Kentucky University
Ninth Place, certificate, Shuyao Chen, Pennsylvania State University
Tenth Place, certificate, Frankie Prijatel, Syracuse University

University of Nebraska-Lincoln placed first in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest
accumulated student points from the first of four multimedia competitions. It is followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Western Kentucky University; University of Florida; San Francisco State University; Syracuse University; Pennsylvania State University; Ohio University; Kent State University; University of Missouri. The final
Intercollegiate winners will be announced in April. The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The Multimedia judges are: Kenny Irby, Independent Visual Consultant; Mark Morris, Senior Editor/Multimedia, The Sacramento Bee; Brian Storm, Founder & Executive Director, MediaStorm.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 58th year, added multimedia to the competitions in 2010. The
program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and two photojournalism competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 105 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to
participate in the Hearst competitions.

# # #