2017-18 Hearst Enterprise Reporting Winners Named


San Francisco – The top 10 winners in enterprise reporting were announced today in the 58th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 105 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate. 122 entries were received in the Enterprise Writing competition from 70 schools.

First Place has been awarded to Kenny Jacoby from University of Oregon. Kenny receives a $3,000 scholarship for his winning article titled “Why Oregon’s Title IX Investigation of Kavell Bigby-Williams’s Alleged Rape Stalled Before It Began” published in SportsIllustrated.com.

University of Oregon’s School of Journalism will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. Kenny also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship which will be held this June in San Francisco.

Other scholarship winners are:
Nicole Ares, Western Kentucky University, second place, $2,000 scholarship
Carley Lanich, Indiana University, third place, $1,500 scholarship
Megan Jones, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship
Chris Bowling, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receiving certificates of merit are:
Michelle Hanks, Western Kentucky University, sixth place
Hannah Trull, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, seventh place
Nyssa Kruse, Indiana University, eighth place
Danielle Ohl, University of Maryland, ninth place
Charlotte Bowditch, University of Colorado, tenth place

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two television and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $700,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Indiana University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first two writing competitions of the year. They are followed by: University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Western Kentucky University; Pennsylvania State University; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; University of Oregon; Syracuse University; University of Texas at Austin; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (tie); University of Maryland (tie). The final intercollegiate standings will be determined after the completion of the five writing competitions.

Judging the writing competitions this year are: Audrey Cooper, Editor in Chief, The San Francisco Chronicle; David Zeeck, President and Publisher, The News Tribune, WA, and Wendell Jamieson, Metro Editor, The New York Times.

# # #