2016 Hearst Multimedia IV – Team Reporting Winners Named


The top ten winners in the 2015-2016 college multimedia team reporting are announced in the 56th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 108 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate. There were 72 team entries from 45 schools received in this competition.

First Place has been awarded to team members Melanie Burke, Emma Pindell, Kyra Bailey, Will Saunders, Hayla Beck, Evan Norton, Paige De Paepe, Miro Merrill, Taylor Richmond, Spencer Orofino, Ben McBee, Lili Bayarmagnai, Julia Reihs, Sierra Morgan, Andy Abeyta, from the University of Oregon, for their entry titled “Science and Memory” published on www.scienceandmemory.uoregon.edu. They will receive a $2,600 scholarship. University of Oregon’s School of Journalism receives a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Other winning multimedia teams:
2nd place, $2,000 award, team members: Camille Harrison, Doyle Maurer, Ahjahnae LaQuer, Erin Irwin, Benjamin McKnight III, Colleen Good, Emily Pelland, Shaleah Ingram, Asha Glover, Kelsey Staggers, Maya Gilmore, Austin Rempel, West Virginia University
3rd place, $1,500 award, team members: Kreable Young, Katie McLean, Kae Holloway, Western Kentucky University
4th Place, $1,000 award, team members: Morgan Walker, Adam Wolffbrandt, Western Kentucky University
5th Place, $1,000 award, team members: Samantha Coto, Charles Hatcher, Elise Engle, Jennifer Jenkins, Jessica Rodriguez, Kaila Jones, Laura Gomez, Lindsay Alexander, Nicole Wiesenthal, Raina Barnett, Tamara Dobry, University of Florida
6th place, team members: Callaghan O’Hare, Justina Vasquez, Lexi Namer, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
7th place, team members: Jianing “Holly” He, Elaine Shen, Northwestern University
8th place, team members: Spencer Abridge, Megan Callahan, Madysan Foltz, Julia Goldwasser, Nicole Harris, Lianna Hursh, Jannelle James, Ben Mitchell, Carly Nevis, Nick Papantonis, Kathryn Robinson, Tory Russo, Yuqing (Jessie) Shi, Regan Spencer, Alexa Voss, Syracuse University
9th place, team members: Sierra Ramsay, Mara Klecker, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
10th Place, team members: Kaitlyn Carroll, Alyssa Rameta, Melissa Collins, Ryan Caron King, Maura Murphy, Cristobal Ortega, University of Connecticut

Western Kentucky University has won the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points.
Western Kentucky University is followed by:
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Syracuse University
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
University of Oregon
University of Montana
Pennsylvania State University
Elon University
University of Missouri
Arizona State University

The top three winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively, and will receive their award checks at the Intercollegiate Awards Dinner in San Francisco during the National Championships.

The Multimedia judges are: Tiffany Campbell, Executive Editor, Digital, WBUR 90.9, Arlington, VA; Kenny Irby, Independent Visual Consultant, St. Petersburg, FL; Kate O’Brian, President, Al Jazeera America, New York, NY.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 56th year, added multimedia to the competitions in 2010. The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and two photojournalism competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 108 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.