2016 Hearst Multimedia III – Enterprise Reporting Winners Named

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Multimedia Three/Enterprise Reporting Competition of the 2015-2016 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 50 entries from 28 schools nationwide in the third multimedia competitions of this academic year.

First Place has been awarded to Kyle Hentschel, a junior from University of Oregon. Kyle will receive a $2,600 scholarship for his winning multimedia piece titled “Rise Again” featured on Nepal.uoregon.edu. Kyle also qualifies for the National Multimedia Championship this June in San Francisco. University of Oregon will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

The other top finalists are:
Second Place, $2,000 award, Donovan Baltich, Brigham Young University
Third Place, $1,500 award, Dillon Deaton, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Julia Reihs, University of Oregon
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Cameron Quon, University of Southern California
The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth through tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Katy Beals, Syracuse University
Seventh Place, certificate, Emily Kask, Western Kentucky University
Eighth Place, certificate, Calla Kessler, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Ninth Place, certificate, Avery Sass, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Tenth Place, certificate, Daniel Santa Cruz, Arizona State University

Western Kentucky University placed first in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the third of four multimedia competitions. It is followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Pennsylvania State University; Syracuse University; University of Montana; University of Missouri; Arizona State University; University of Oregon; University of Texas at Austin. The final Intercollegiate winners will be announced in late April. The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The Multimedia judges are: Tiffany Campbell, Executive Editor, Digital, WBUR 90.9, Arlington, VA; Kenny Irby, Independent Visual Consultant, St. Petersburg, FL; Kate O’Brian, President, Al Jazeera America, New York, NY.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 56th year, added multimedia to the competitions in 2010. The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and two photojournalism competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 108 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.

One thought on “2016 Hearst Multimedia III – Enterprise Reporting Winners Named”

  1. Pingback: WKU finishes third overall in 2016 Hearst competition – World News Online

Comments are closed.