2015 Hearst Feature Writing Winners Named

San Francisco – The top 10 winners in the Feature Writing Competition were announced today in the 56th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 109 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.  A record 159 feature writing entries were received in the first competition of the program year.

First Place has been awarded to TAYLOR TELFORD, a sophomore from Indiana University.  Taylor will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her winning article titled “Police officer copes with daughter’s death” published in the Indiana Daily Student.  Indiana University’s School of Journalism will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. Taylor also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship which will be held this June in San Francisco.


Other scholarship winners are:

ERIN  McCARTHY, Penn State University, second place, $2,000 scholarship

KAYLI  KUNKEL, Drake University, third place, $1,500 scholarship

STACEY  MURRAY, University of Iowa, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship

GRETA  WEBER, University of Missouri, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship


The sixth through tenth place winners receiving certificates of merit are:

STEPHANIE  KIM, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, sixth place

MEGHAN  HOLDEN, University of Minnesota, seventh place

KRISTEN  HWANG, Arizona State University, eighth place

BRYAN  ROLLI, University of Texas, Austin, ninth place

DANIELLE  GROBMEIER, Arizona State University, tenth place


Pennsylvania State University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the first competition.  They are followed by: Arizona State University; University of Iowa; Indiana University; Drake University; University of Missouri; University of Alabama; University of Oregon (tie); University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (tie); University of Minnesota.

Judging the writing competitions this year are:  Nicole Carroll, Vice President/News and Editor, The Arizona Republic; Mike Leary, Senior Vice President and Editor, San Antonio Express-News; and David Zeeck, President and Publisher, The News Tribune.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two TV and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions except Multimedia Team Reporting.  The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.


# # #


Jan Watten
Program Director


Leave a Reply