2015 Hearst Photojournalism News and Features Winners Named

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the November photojournalism competition of the 2015-2016 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. Entries in the first of two photo competitions were in the categories of news and features.

The winners were selected from 127 entries submitted from 68 schools nationwide. The top winners, along with the top finalists in the next photo competition and two overall highest scorers, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging next April. Six finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the program’s National Photojournalism Championship, along with writing, broadcast and multimedia finalists. The Championship will be held this June in San Francisco.

The top five finalists who qualify for the semi-final round are:
First Place, $2,600 award, Dillon Deaton, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Second Place, $2,000 award, Timothy Tai, University of Missouri
Third Place, $1,500 award, Andraya Croft, Central Michigan University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Calla Kessler, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Emily Harger, Ohio University
The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth through tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Jacob Byk, Kent State University
Seventh Place, certificate, Callaghan O’Hare, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Eighth Place, certificate, Nick Wagner, Western Kentucky University
Ninth Place, certificate, Jenna Watson, Kent State University
Tenth Place, certificate, Michael Ares, California State University, Long Beach

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 56th year, added photojournalism to the competitions in 1970. The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 108 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.

The photojournalism judges are: Sue Morrow, Assistant Multimedia Director, Sacramento Bee, CA; Kenneth Irby, Independent Visual Consultant, FL, Lisa Krantz, Staff Photographer, San Antonio Express-News.

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is in first place in the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated student points from this competition. It is followed by: Kent State University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Western Kentucky University; University of Missouri; Ohio University; Central Michigan University; CSU, Long Beach; University of Oregon; Syracuse University. The final Intercollegiate winners are announced in April. The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

Leave a Reply