Hearst Writing Champsionship Finalists Named


The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the eight journalism students from across the country who will compete in the 53rdt annual National Writing Championships held in San Francisco, June 3 – 7, 2013.

The finalists include five first-place winners in the monthly writing competitions and three entrants with the highest accumulated scores from those competitions, selected from 536 entries submitted this year.  At the Championship, the finalists will participate in various spot assignments and an interview chosen by our judges, competing for additional scholarship awards ranging from $1,500 to $5,000.

Also competing in the National Championships will be six photojournalism finalists, five radio broadcast finalists, five television broadcast finalists and five multimedia finalists.

The 2013 National Writing Championship finalists are:

Melissa Abbey, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Brittany Horn, Pennsylvania State University

Rachel Janik, Northwestern University

Alex Orlando, University of Florida

Stephen Pianovich, Pennsylvania State University

Charles Scudder, Indiana University

Faiz Siddiqui, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Claire Wiseman, Indiana University

Judging the writing competitions this year are:  Ward Bushee, Editor and Executive Vice President, The San Francisco Chronicle; Marty Kaiser, Editor and Senior Vice President, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, and John Temple, most recently Managing Editor of The Washington Post.

Presently, 106 colleges and universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools are eligible to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  Funded and administered for 53 years by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation, the Journalism Program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships, grants and stipends annually.



Jan Watten,



# # #