Hearst Television Competition II Winners Named



The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the student television broadcast finalists selected in the 2011-2012 Journalism Awards Program’s Broadcast News Competition II.

Five television winners, selected from 57 entrants from 33 schools, will submit additional entries for a semi-final round of judging (along with five winners from Competition I).  Following the semi-finals, five television finalists will be chosen to participate in the 2012 Championship in San Francisco, along with the radio, writing, photojournalism and multimedia finalists.

The top television finalists are:

First Place, $2,600 award, NATHAN  O’NEAL, Arizona State University

Second Place, $2,000 award,  BLAKE  HANSON, University of Missouri

Third Place, $1,500 award,  LYDIA  DEFRANCHI, Brigham Young University

Fourth Place, $1,000 award,  DAVID  EARL  WIETLISPACH, University of Missouri

Fifth Place, $1,000 award,  KATHLEEN  WITTE, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Sixth Place, certificate,  RYAN  HAARER, Arizona State University

Seventh Place, certificate, TOM  GEORGE, University of Maryland

Eighth Place, certificate,  SARAH  PHINNEY, Ball State University

Ninth Place, certificate,  JEFF  PACKER, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Tenth Place, certificate,  DAVID  KAPLAN, Syracuse University

The schools of all award-winning finalists receive matching grants.

The judges, all professionals in radio and television, are: Edward Esposito, Vice President, Information Media, Rubber City Radio Group, Akron, OH;  Kate O’Brian, Senior Vice President, ABC News, New York, NY; and Fred Young, retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst Television Inc., Yardley, PA.

Arizona State University has won first place in the Intercollegiate Broadcast Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the Radio, Television I and Television II competitions.  It is followed by University of Southern California (tie); University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (tie); University of Missouri; Brigham Young University; Syracuse University; University of Montana; Pennsylvania State University; University of Florida; University of Maryland.

The 2011-2012 broadcast news competitions are held in 106 member colleges and universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs.  The Broadcast News Competition was added in 1988 to the Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program that for 52 years has included writing, photojournalism, and multimedia, and now offers awards totaling up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.  Please check the monthly winners section of the Web site for the winning work, which is updated shortly after the completion of each competition.


Jan C. Watten, program director


# # #