Hearst Sports Writing Winners Named




San FranciscoThe top 10 winners in college sports writing have been announced in the 49th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 110 undergraduate journalism programs at colleges and universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

First Place has been awarded to RUSTIN  DODD, a senior at the University of Kansas.  He will receive a $2,000 scholarship for his winning article, “For the love of the game” from The University Daily Kansan.  The Universityof Kansas will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.  Rustin has qualified to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship in San Francisco this June.

Other scholarship winners are:

BRIAN  HUGHES, University of Georgia, second place, $1,500 scholarship

ANDREW  ASTLEFORD, University of Missouri, third place, $1,000 scholarship

JEREMY  WERNER, University of Illinois, Fourth place, $750 scholarship

MARK  DENT, University of Kansas, fifth place, $600 scholarship

JONATHAN  GREENFIELD  SMITH, University of Kentucky, sixth place, $500 scholarship

MICHAEL  FRANK  BROWNLEE, University of Iowa, seventh place, $500 scholarship

ANDY  McCULLOUGH, Syracuse University, eighth place, $500 scholarship

JOSEPH  TERRY, Michigan State University, ninth place, $500 scholarship

BENJAMIN  LARRISON, Northwestern University, tenth place, $500 scholarship


The University of Kansas remains in first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first four writing competitions of the academic year.  They are followed by: University of Missouri; Northwestern University; Arizona State University; University of Georgia; San FranciscoState University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Pennsylvania State University; University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; University of Montana.  The final winners will be named in April following the Spot News writing competition.

The Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the W.R. Hearst Foundation.  It consists of six monthly writing, three photojournalism and four broadcast news competitions and one multimedia competition, with championship finals in all divisions except multimedia.  The program awards up to $550,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are:  Arthur S. Brisbane, ASB Consulting, East Dennis, MA; Jeff Cohen, Executive Vice President and Editor, Houston Chronicle, TX; and Peter Bhatia, Executive Editor, The Oregonian,Portland, OR.

There were 87 students from 52 universities and colleges who participated in the program’s fourth writing competition.  For samples of winning work, please check the monthly winners section of the website which is updated shortly after each competition.


Jan Watten, Program Director


# # #