Hearst Photojournalism Semi-Finalists Named




The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the twelve college photojournalism students who have been selected as semi-finalists in the 48th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  They were the top four winners from the three monthly photojournalism competitions and qualify for the National Championship Photojournalism Semi-Finals this June.  They are:

JOHN  W.  ADKISSON, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
PHILIP  ANDREWS, Western Kentucky University
AARON  BORTON,  Western Kentucky University
JEFF  GIRALDO, Western Kentucky
TIM  HUSSIN,  University of Florida
IKURU  KUWAJIMA, University of Missouri
ROBERT  LEISTRA, Ball State University
JUSTIN  MAXON,  San Francisco State University
MICHAEL J. MULLADY, San Francisco State University
MICHAEL  PAULSEN,  University of Nebraska-Lincoln
JESSICA  PONS, San Francisco State University
JOHN  TULLY, University of Missouri

These twelve winners will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging.  The judges will then select six to compete in the program’s National Photojournalism Championships, along with winners in the writing and broadcast news competitions.  The finalists will compete for additional awards in the National Championships, held in San Francisco, June 1 – 6, 2008.
The photojournalism judges are:  Janet Reeves, Director of Photography, The Rocky Mountain News, Denver, CO; Mary Shanahan, Creative Director, Town & Country Magazine, New York,NY; and Pim Van Hemmen, Assistant Managing Editor/Photography, The Star-Ledger, Newark,NJ.

There are 108 universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools eligible to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program, often called the “Pulitzers of college journalism.” Funded and administered for 48 years by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation, the program awards up to $500,000 a year in scholarships, grants and stipends, under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.


# # #


Jan Watten, Program Director
415-908-4560 ext. 4565