Hearst Photojournalism Semi-Finalists Named



The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the twelve college photojournalism students who have been selected as semi-finalists in the 52nd annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  They are the top winners in the two 2011-2012 photo competitions and two finalists with the highest scores earned from multiple placements in the competitions:

Brynn Anderson, Western Kentucky University 

Patrick Breen, University of Nebraska-Lincoln 

Andrew Colwell, Pennsylvania State University 

Joel Hawksley, Ohio University 

Grant Hindsley, University of Missouri 

Jake May, Central Michigan University 

Maddie McGarvey, Ohio University 

Ashley Miller, Central Michigan University 

Elijah Nouvelage, San Francisco State University 

Christian Randolph, Western Kentucky University 

Meg Roussos, Ohio University 

Armando Sanchez, Western Kentucky University 

These twelve winners, whose work was selected from 146 entries, will submit additional photo portfolios for the semi-final round of judging.  The judges will evaluate the portfolios and select six finalists to participate in the program’s National Championship held June 4 – 8, 2012 in San Francisco.  During the Championship, the six photo finalists along with eight writing, five radio, five television and five multimedia finalists will complete spot news assignments, vying for additional scholarship awards of up to $5,000.

The photojournalism judges are:  Ken Geiger, Deputy Director of Photography, National Geographic Magazine, Washington, D.C.; Steve Gonzales, Director of Photography, Houston Chronicle, TX; and Geri Migielicz, Executive Editor, Story4, Ben Lomond, CA.

There are 106 universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools eligible to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  The Journalism Awards Program added photojournalism to the competition in 1970, and is funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  The program awards up to $500,000 a year in scholarships, grants and stipends, and takes place under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.


Jan C. Watten, program director