Hearst Photojournalism Semi-Final Qualifiers Named


The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the eleven college photojournalism students who have been selected as semi-finalists in the 54th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  They are the top winners in the two 2013-2014 photo competitions and two finalists with the highest scores earned from multiple placements in the competitions:

Ian Bates, Ohio University

Jabin Botsford, Western Kentucky University

Brittany Greeson, Western Kentucky University

Danny Guy, Western Kentucky University

Emily Harger, Ohio University

Sammy Jo Hester, Western Kentucky University

Emily Rhyne, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Justin Wan, Michigan State University

Jenna Watson, Kent State University

Yue Wu, Iowa State University

Zachary Wittman, Central Michigan University

These winners, whose work was selected from 160 entries, will submit additional photo portfolios for the semi-final round of judging.  The judges will evaluate the portfolios and select six finalists to participate in the program’s National Championship held June 2 – 6, 2014 in Washington, DC.  During the Championship, the six photo finalists along with eight writing, five radio, five television and five multimedia finalists will complete spot news assignments, vying for additional scholarship awards.

The photojournalism judges are:  Steve Gonzales, Director of Photography, Houston Chronicle, TX, Sue Morrow, Assistant Multimedia Director, Sacramento Bee, CA; and Jakub Mosur, Freelance Photographer, San Francisco, CA.

There are 105 universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools eligible to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  The Journalism Awards Program added photojournalism to the competition in 1970, and is funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  The program awards up to $500,000 a year in scholarships, grants and stipends, and takes place under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.


Contact: Jan C. Watten