Hearst Photojournalism Comp. II Winners Named



San Francisco – Five college photographers have been named winners in the Picture Story/Series Competition of the Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  This was the second of two photo competitions, in which 56 entries were submitted from 33 schools nationwide.

The top five winners, along with the top five finalists in competition I and two overall highest scorers, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging in May. Six finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the program’s National Photojournalism Championship in San Francisco this June, along with writing, broadcast and multimedia finalists.

The top five semi-finalists are:

First Place, $2,600 award, MEG  ROUSSOS, Ohio University

Second Place, $2,000 award, ANDREW  COLWELL, Pennsylvania State University

Third Place, $1,500 award, PATRICK  BREEN, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Fourth Place, $1,000 award, ARMANDO  SANCHEZ, Western Kentucky University

Fifth Place, $1,000 award, MADALYN  McGARVEY, Ohio University

The sixth through tenth place finalists are:

Sixth Place, certificate, ELIJAH  NOUVELAGE, San Francisco State University

Seventh Place, certificate, GRANT  HINDSLEY, University of Missouri

Eighth Place, certificate, JARED  HAMILTON, Western Kentucky University

Ninth Place, certificate, MICHAEL  CIAGLO, University of Oregon

Tenth Place, certificate, SONJA  OCH, University of Missouri

Western Kentucky University has won the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the two photo competitions.  It is followed by: Ohio University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Pennsylvania State University; Central Michigan University; San Francisco State University; University of Missouri; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Florida; Iowa State University. The top three winners earn $10,000, $5,000 and $2,500 respectively.

The photojournalism judges are:  Ken Geiger, Deputy Director of Photography, National Geographic Magazine, Washington, D.C.; Steve Gonzales, Director of Photography, Houston Chronicle, TX; and Geri Migielicz, Executive Editor, Story4, Ben Lomond, CA.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 52nd year, added photojournalism to the competition in 1970.  The program also includes five writing contests, three broadcast news competitions, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.  The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

106 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.

To view the top finalists’ winning work, view the monthly winners section of the web site.


Jan Watten, program director



#  #  #