Hearst Photo Semi-Finalists Named



The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the fourteen college photojournalism students who have been selected as semi-finalists in the 50th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program. They are the top four winners in the three 2009-2010 photo competitions and two finalists with the highest scores earned from multiple placements in the competitions:

JOHN W. ADKISSON, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
DREW ANGERER, Ohio University
TESSA BARGAINNIER, Kent State University
NEIL A. BLAKE, Central Michigan University
LANCE BOOTH, Western Kentucky University
TYLER CACEK, Western Kentucky University
CODY DUTY, Western Kentucky University
PATRICK T. FALLON, University of Missouri
RYAN C. HENRIKSEN, Ohio University
DAN KRAUSS, Ohio University
SCOTT McINTYRE, Western Kentucky University
SHANE T. McMILLAN, University of Montana
ARKASHA STEVENSON, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

These fourteen winners will submit additional photo portfolios for the semi-final round of judging. The judges will evaluate the portfolios and select six finalists to participate in the program’s National Championship held June 8 – 12, 2010 in New York City. During the Championship, the six photo finalists along with eight writing, five radio and five television finalists will complete spot news assignments, vying for additional scholarship awards of up to $5,000.

The photojournalism judges are: Ken Geiger, Senior Editor, Technology/Illustrations, National Geographic Magazine, Washington, D.C.; Michael C. Norseng, Photo Editor, Esquire Magazine, New York, NY; Geri Migielicz, Story4, Ben Lomond, CA.

There are 110 universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools eligible to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program. The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 50th year, added photojournalism to the competition in 1970, and is funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The program awards up to $550,000 a year in scholarships, grants and stipends, and takes place under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.
Jan C. Watten, program director