Hearst Photo Portrait/Personality & Feature



San Francisco – Twenty college photographers have been named finalists in the November photojournalism competition of the Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

Entries in the first of three photojournalism competitions were in the categories of portrait/personality and feature.

The winners were selected from among 70 entries submitted from 39 journalism schools nationwide. The top four winners, along with the top four finalists in the next two competitions, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging next June. Following that round of judging, six finalists will be chosen to compete in the program’s National Photojournalism Championship in San Francisco, June 2007, along with winners in the writing and broadcast news competitions.

The annual photojournalism competitions are held in more than 100 member colleges and universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs.

The top four finalists are:
First Place, $2,000 award, BRIAN LEHMANN, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Second Place, $1,500 award, BRANDON THIBODEAUX, University of North Texas
Third Place, $1,000 award, CHRISTIAN HANSEN, Western Kentucky University
Fourth Place, $750 award, DEANNA DENT, Arizona State University

The fifth through tenth place winners are:
Fifth Place, $500 award, JARRETT BAKER, University of Florida
Sixth Place, $500 award, WILLIAM VRAGOVIC, Ball State University
Seventh Place, $500 award, SAMANTHA CLEMENS, University of Missouri
Eighth Place, $500 award, JEREMIAH ARMENTA, Arizona State University
Ninth Place, $500 award, VIVIAN JOHNSON, San Francisco State University
Tenth Place, $500 award, KEVIN HAGEN, San Francisco State University

Students who placed among the top 20 and will receive award certificates are:
MAX BITTLE, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, eleventh place
TRICIA COYNE, University of Florida, twelfth place
NATALIE ROSS, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, thirteenth place
KARI COLLINS, Western Kentucky University, fourteenth place
JASON KINDIG, University of North Texas, fifteenth place
ELLY JOHNSON, Central Michigan University, sixteenth place-tie
CHRISTOPHER HANEWINCKEL, Kansas State University, sixteenth place-tie
BEN FREDMAN, University of Missouri, eighteenth place
ANDREW D. CHAVEZ, Texas Christian University, nineteenth place
GIANCARLO PITOCCO, Pennsylvania State University, twentieth place-tie
CRYSTAL STREET, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, twentieth place-tie
ALYSSA SCHUKAR, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, twentieth place-tie

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 47th year, added photojournalism to the competition in 1970. The program also includes six writing contests and four broadcast news competitions, offering more than $450,000 in scholarships to undergraduate journalism majors with matching grants to their respective schools.

The photojournalism judges are: Leslie A. White, Assistant Director of Photography, Web/News, The Dallas Morning News, Texas; Pim Van Hemmen, Assistant Managing Editor/Photography, The Star-Ledger, Newark, New Jersey; and Janet Reeves, Director of Photography, The Rocky Mountain News, Denver, Colorado.

Arizona State University placed first in the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated school points from the first of three photo competitions. It is followed by: University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of North Texas; Western Kentucky University; University of Florida; San Francisco State University; University of Missouri; Ball State University; University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Southern Illinois University, Carbondale.
# # #
Jan Watten
415.543.6033, ext. 308