Hearst Photo Finalists Named


The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the six college photojournalists from around the country who have been selected to compete in the 47th annual National Photojournalism Championships of the Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

Currently, there are 107 colleges and universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools that participate in the program, which is often called the Pulitzers of college journalism. Funded and administered for 47 years by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation, the Program awards more than $400,000 a year in scholarships, grants and stipends, under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.

The six 2007 Photo finalists were selected during a portfolio review on Monday June 4th from a field of twelve. They were notified the same day and fly to San Francisco on June 5th for the championships. They are:

BEN FREDMAN, University of Missouri

BRIAN LEHMANN, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

EDWARD LINSMIER, Western Kentucky University

MORGAN PETROSKI, University of Florida

BRANDON THIBODEAUX, University of North Texas

JONATHAN D. WOODS, Western Kentucky University
The finalists will participate in spot assignments – competing for awards ranging from $1,500 to $5,000 in the program’s Championships, held in San Francisco, June 5 – 9, 2007. Also competing in the Championships will be writing and broadcast finalists. The winners of the Photo Cahmpionship will be announced on Saturday, June 9th.

The photojournalism judges are: Leslie A. White, Director of Photography, The Dallas Morning News, Texas; Pim Van Hemmen, Assistant Managing Editor/Photography, The Star-Ledger, Newark, New Jersey; and Janet Reeves, Director of Photography, The Rocky Mountain News, Denver, Colorado.


Jan Watten, Program Director
Hearst Journalism Awards Program


# # #