Hearst Photo Competition I Winners Named


San Francisco – Ten college photographers have been named finalists in the November 2009 photojournalism competition of the Hearst Journalism Awards Program. Entries in the first of three photojournalism competitions were in the categories of portrait/personality, feature and “personal vision.”

The winners were selected from among 86 entries submitted from 52 schools nationwide.  The top four winners, along with the top four finalists in the next two competitions and two overall highest scorers, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging next April.  Six finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the program’s National Photojournalism Championship, along with writing and broadcast finalists.

110 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.

The top four finalists are:

First Place, $2,000 award, JOHN  W.  ADKISSON, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Second Place, $1,500 award, SCOTT  MCINTYRE, Western Kentucky University

Third Place, $1,000 award, RYAN  C.  HENRIKSEN, Ohio University

Fourth Place, $750 award, DAN  KRAUSS, Ohio University

The fifth through tenth place winners are:

Fifth Place, $600 award, TYLER  CACEK, Western Kentucky University

Sixth Place, $500 award, COURTNEY  POTTER, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Seventh Place, $500 award, NEIL  A.  BLAKE, Central Michigan University

Eighth Place, $500 award, KASIA  BROUSSALIAN, University of Colorado

Ninth Place, $500 award, BRITNEY  MCINTOSH, University of Kentucky

Tenth Place, $500 award, CHEN  WANG, University of Florida

These finalists’ schools receive matching grants.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 50th year, added photojournalism to the competition in 1970.  The program also includes six writing contests, four broadcast news competitions, and one multimedia competition offering more than $550,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.

The photojournalism judges are:  Ken Geiger, Senior Editor, Technology/Illustrations, National Geographic Magazine, Washington, D.C.; Michael C. Norseng, Photo Editor, Esquire Magazine,New York, NY; Geri Migielicz, Story4, Ben Lomond, CA.

Ohio University is in first place after this first competition in the Intercollegiate PhotojournalismCompetition with the highest accumulated student points.  It is followed by: Western KentuckyUniversity; University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; University of Kentucky; University of Florida;Central Michigan University; University of Colorado; University of Missouri; Ball State University(tie); University of Nebraska-Lincoln (tie).  The final Intercollegiate winners are announced after the third photo competition.

To view the top four finalists’ winning work, please check the monthly winners section of the website which is updated shortly after each competition.


#  #  #



Jan Watten