Hearst Editorial Writing Winners Named



San FranciscoThe top 10 winners in college editorial writing were announced today in the 50thannual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 110 undergraduatejournalism programs at colleges and universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

First Place has been awarded to MEGAN  ANN  MARTIN, of Arizona State University. She will receive a $2,000 scholarship for her winning article titled “Whose Pants Are These?” published in The Cronkite Zine.  Arizona State University will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.  Megan Martin graduated in the spring of 2009, and consequently is not eligible to participate in the Championship.  As a result, the second place winner, RACHEL  STARK, from IndianaUniversity, who will receive a $1,500 scholarship for her article titled “Writing On The Stall” from The Indiana Daily Student, qualifies for the National Writing Championship which will take place in New York City in June 2010.

Other top ten scholarship winners are:

ALLISON  GATLIN, Arizona State University, third place, $1,000 scholarship

ASHLEY  KILLOUGH, Baylor University, fourth place, $750 scholarship

CARLTON  BARZON, Northwestern University, fifth place, $600 scholarship

ALAN  LEVY  BLINDER, University of Alabama, sixth place, $500 scholarship

HAYLEY  PETERSON, University of Georgia, seventh place, $500 scholarship

ABBEY  CALDWELL, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, eighth place, $500 scholarship

LEAH  FINNEGAN, University of Texas, Austin, ninth place, $500 scholarship

BRIAN  ROSENTHAL, Northwestern University, tenth place, $500 scholarship

Northwestern University received first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first two writing competitions of the academic year.  They are followed by:  Arizona State University; University of Kentucky; Indiana University; Pennsylvania StateUniversity; Baylor University; University of Texas, Austin; University of Georgia (tie); University of Alabama(tie); Ohio University (tie).  The final winners are announced after the completion of the six writing competitions.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  It consists of six monthly writing competitions, three photojournalism competitions, four broadcast news competitions and one multimedia competition, with Championship finals in all divisions except multimedia.  The program awards more than $550,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are:  Jeff Cohen, Executive Vice President and Editor,Houston Chronicle, TX;  Peter Bhatia, Executive Editor, The Oregonian, Portland, OR; and Jennifer Sizemore, Vice President/Editor in Chief, MSNBC.com and Executive Producer, NBC News.

There were a record 114 students from 64 universities who participated in the program’s second writing competition of this academic year.  Samples of winning work can be viewed in the monthly winners section of the Web site, which is updated shortly after each competition.


Jan C. Watten, Program Director