Hearst Multimedia Competition II Winners Named



San FranciscoThe top 10 winners in college multimedia were announced today in the 51st annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program.  This was the News category in which 64 entrants from 39 undergraduate journalism programs across the nation participated.

First Place has been awarded to DAN  NELIGH, a junior from the Arizona State University.  He will receive a $2,600 scholarship for his entry “A Life in the Sand” posted on the Cronkite Zine Web site. Dan also qualifies to participate in the Journalism Awards Program’s National Multimedia Championships in San Francisco this June along with second- place winner, LESLYE  DAVIS, a junior from Western Kentucky University and multimedia competition I winner MARGARET  CHEATHAM  WILLIAMS.

Other scholarship winners are:

Second Place, LESLYE  DAVIS, Western Kentucky University, $2,000 Scholarship

Third Place, CRISTINA  RAYAS, Arizona State University, $1,500 Scholarship

Fourth Place, ZACK  CONKLE, Western Kentucky University, $1,000 Scholarship

Fifth Place, JESSEY  DEARING, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, $1,000 Scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receive certificates of merit:

Sixth Place, CAITLYN  GREENE, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Seventh Place, GRETA  RYBUS, University of Montana

Eighth Place, MICHAEL  CIAGLO, University of Oregon

Ninth Place, ALEX  PINES, Syracuse University

Tenth Place, BRANDON  GOODWIN, University of Kentucky

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  It consists of six monthly writing, three photojournalism and three broadcast news competitions and two multimedia competitions, with championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the multimedia competitions this year are: Geri Migielicz, Executive Editor, Story4, Ben Lomond, CA; Ursula Reutin, Managing Editor/News Anchor, News Talk 97.3 KIRO Radio, Seattle, WA; and Jennifer Sizemore, Vice President/Editor in Chief, MSNBC.com and Executive Producer, NBC News.

For samples of winning work, please check the monthly winners section of this web site, which is updated shortly after each competition.


Jan Watten, program director


#  #  #