Hearst Multimedia Competition I Winners Named



San FranciscoThe top 10 winners in college multimedia were announced today in the 51st annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program.  This was the Features category in which 68 entrants from 40 undergraduate journalism programs across the nation participated.

First Place has been awarded to MARGARET CHEATHAM WILLIAMS, a senior from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.  She will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her entry “Goodnight Moon” posted on the Innovative Interactivity Web site. Margaret also qualifies to participate in the Journalism Awards Program’s National Championships in San Francisco this June.  The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill will receive a matching grant as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Other scholarship winners are:

ARKASHA  STEVENSON, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, second place, $2,000 scholarship

LESLYE  DAVIS, Western Kentucky University , third place, $1,500 scholarship

TARYN  BRADY  HALE, Arizona State University, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship

ALISIA  J.  DUGANZ, University of Montana, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receive certificates of merit:

ELIZABETH  KREUTZ, New York University, sixth place

MACKENZIE  REISS, Syracuse University, seventh place

CHRISTOPHER  WALLIS, Kent State University, eighth place

HAYDEN  COPLEN, University of Southern California, ninth place

EVE  EDELHEIT, University of Missouri, tenth place

The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill is first place in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competitionwith the highest accumulated student points in this competition.  They are followed by:  Western Kentucky University; Syracuse University; University of Montana; Arizona State University; University of Missouri; New York University; University of Southern California; Kent State University; University of Washington (tie); University of Nebraska-Lincoln (tie).  The final Multimedia school ranks will be announced after the second Multimedia competition in May.  Points from the multimedia competitions will be calculated with the writing, photo and broadcast competition points to determine the Overall Intercollegiate winners.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication, and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  It consists of six monthly writing, three photojournalism and three broadcast news competitions and two multimedia competitions, with championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the multimedia competitions this year are: Geri Migielicz, Executive Editor, Story4, Ben Lomond, CA; Ursula Reutin, Managing Editor/News Anchor, News Talk 97.3 KIRO Radio, Seattle, WA; and Jennifer Sizemore, Vice President/Editor in Chief, MSNBC.com and Executive Producer, NBC News.

For samples of winning work, please check the monthly winners section of the web site which is updated shortly after each competition.


Jan Watten, program director


#  #  #