Hearst Intercollegiate Winners Named


SAN FRANCISCO – Nine universities shared prizes totaling $64,000 as this year’s winners of the Intercollegiate Writing, Photojournalism and Broadcast News and Multimedia Competitions of the annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

The 2013-2014 prizes are awarded to the top three universities in each division of the Intercollegiate Competitions, with the top ten of each category receiving Hearst medallions.

Often called “The Pulitzers of college journalism,” the Hearst program holds year-long competitions in writing, photojournalism, broadcast news and multimedia for journalism undergraduates.  Journalism schools accumulating the most points earned by their students in each category are designated the winners of the Intercollegiate Competitions.

The Overall Intercollegiate winners are those schools with the highest combined student points from the 1,109 entries submitted this year.

The 2014 Intercollegiate Competition winners are:


$10,000 First Place                              INDIANA  UNIVERSITY

$ 4,000  Second Place                         PENNSYLVANIA  STATE  UNIVERSITY

$ 2,000  Third Place                            NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY



$10,000 First Place                              WESTERN  KENTUCKY  UNIVERSITY

$ 4,000  Second Place                         OHIO  UNIVERSITY

$ 2,000  Third Place                            UNIVERSITY  OF  NORTH  CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL


$10,000First Place                              UNIVERSITY  OF  MISSOURI

$ 4,000  Second Place                        ARIZONA STATE UNIVERSITY

$ 2,000  Third Place                            UNIVERSITY  OF  NORTH  CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL


$10,000 First Place                              WESTERN  KENTUCKY  UNIVERSITY

$ 4,000  Second Place                         UNIVERSITY  OF  NEBRASKA – LINCOLN

$ 2,000  Third Place                            UNIVERSITY  OF  NORTH  CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL


First Place                            PENNSYLVANIA  STATE  UNIVERSITY

Second Place- tie                 UNIVERSITY  OF  MISSOURI

Second Place – tie                WESTERN  KENTUCKY  UNIVERSITY

The winners in each category will receive cash prizes and medallions during the National Championships in Washington, DC at the Intercollegiate Awards Presentation on Wednesday, June 4, 2014.

Writing medallions are awarded to Arizona State University, Fourth Place;  University of Missouri, Fifth Place; University of Georgia, Sixth Place; University of Florida, Seventh Place; University of Oregon, Eighth Place; University of Montana, Ninth Place; Kent State University, Tenth Place.

Photojournalism medallions are awarded to:  Kent State University, Fourth Place; University of Missouri, Fifth Place; Syracuse University, Sixth Place; Pennsylvania State University, seventh place; Indiana University, Eighth Place; Arizona State University, Ninth Place; University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Tenth Place.

Broadcast News medallions are awarded to: University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Fourth Place; University of Southern California, Fifth Place; Pennsylvania State University, Sixth Place; University of Montana, Seventh Place; Northwestern University, Eighth Place; University of Florida, Ninth Place; University of Minnesota, Tenth Place.

Multimedia medallions are awarded to: Pennsylvania State University, fourth place; University of Missouri, fifth place; Syracuse University, sixth place; Arizona State University, seventh place; University of Montana; eighth place; University of Oregon, ninth place; San Francisco State University, tenth place.

Overall medallions are awarded to: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, fourth place; Indiana University, fifth place; Arizona State University, sixth place; University of Nebraska-Lincoln, seventh place; Northwestern University; eighth place; University of Montana, ninth place; University of Oregon, tenth place.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program operates under the auspices of the accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.  It is fully funded and administered by The William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  Currently, 105 accredited undergraduate schools of journalism in the United States are eligible to participate in the program, which awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Publisher William Randolph Hearst established the William Randolph Hearst Foundation and The Hearst Foundation, Inc. in the 1940’s, a few years before his death in 1951.  Since then, the Foundations have awarded nearly one billion dollars in grants and programs.


Contact:   Jan Watten