Hearst Enterprise Reporting Winners Named



San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college enterprise reporting were announced today in the 52nd annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 106 undergraduate journalism programs at colleges and universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

First Place has been awarded to ELLEN JEAN HIRST, a senior from the University of Nebraska.  Ellen will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her winning article titled “Turned Away” published in Bolivia Reborn.  University of Nebraska will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.  Ellen also qualifies for the National Writing Championship which takes place in San Francisco this June.

Other top five scholarship winners are:

GARTH  SEARS, University of Kansas, second place, $2,000 scholarship

SARAH  BRUBECK, Indiana University, third place, $1,500 scholarship

KATY  BERGEN, University of Missouri, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship

MARIANNA  BRELAND, University of Mississippi, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receive certificates of merit:

BRIAN  NORDLI, University of Missouri, sixth place

SAMANTHA  CAIOLA, Northwestern University, seventh place

NATASHA  ZOUVES, University of Southern California, eighth place

ALEXANDRA  STUCKEY, Ohio University, ninth place

JULIE  SICKEL, Kent State University, tenth place

Arizona State University received first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the first two competitions.  They are followed by: University of Nebraska; University of Missouri; University of Kansas; University of Oregon; University of Montana; Indiana University; Pennsylvania State University; Northwestern University; Kent State University.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  It consists of five monthly writing competitions, two photojournalism competitions, three broadcast news competitions and four multimedia competitions, with Championship finals in all divisions.  The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competition this year are:  Jennifer Sizemore, Vice President/Editor-in-Chief, MSNBC.com and Executive Producer, NBC News; Ward Bushee, Editor and Executive Vice President, The San Francisco Chronicle; and Marty Kaiser, Editor and Senior Vice President, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.

There were 93 students from 53 universities who participated in the program’s second writing competition of this academic year.  Samples of winning work can be viewed in the monthly winners section of our Web site, www.hearstawards.org, which is updated shortly after each competition.


Jan C. Watten, program director