Hearst Enterprise Reporting Winners Named



San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college enterprise reporting were announced today in the 54th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 105 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.  A record 110 entries from 62 schools were received in this competition.

First Place has been awarded to Katie Mettler, a senior from Indiana University.  Katie will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her winning article titled “Suspended Justice” published in idsnews.com.  Indiana University’s School of Journalism will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.  Katie also qualifies for the National Writing Championship this June in Washington, DC.

Other scholarship winners are:

Lauren Caruba, Northwestern University, second place, $2,000 scholarship

  Jessica Tully, Pennsylvania State University, third place, $1,500 scholarship

Andrew Wagaman, University of Missouri, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship

Matthew Glowicki, Indiana University, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receive certificates of merit:

Devon Frye, New York University, sixth place

Zack Peterson, University of Florida, seventh place

David Robles, Arizona State University, eighth place

Caitlin McCabe, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, ninth place

Rachel Karas, American University, tenth place

Indiana University received first place in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the first two writing competitions.  They are followed by: Northwestern University; Pennsylvania State University; University of Florida; Arizona State University; University of Missouri; University of Montana; University of Oregon; New York University; Kent State University. The final winners will be announced after the completion of the five writing competitions.  The top three intercollegiate winners will win $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two TV and four multimedia competitions, with Championship finals in all divisions.  The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.

Judging the writing competitions this year are:  Marty Kaiser, Editor and Senior Vice President, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel;  Mike Leary, Senior Vice President and Editor, San Antonio Express-News; and John Temple, Senior Fellow, John S. Knight Journalism Fellowships Program, Stanford University, CA.


Contact: Jan C. Watten, program director




# # #