Hearst Broadcast News Competition Winners

The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the student radio and television broadcast finalists of the Hearst Journalism Awards Program Broadcast Competition. The category for Competition II was news.

The top five winners in both radio and television were selected from among 32 radio and 46 television entries submitted. These winners, along with the top five finalists from both categories in Competition I, will submit additional tapes for the semi-final round of judging. Following that round of judging, five finalists in radio and five in television will be chosen to compete in the program’s national broadcast news championships in San Francisco, along with winners in the writing and photojournalism competitions.

The top five radio finalists, qualifying for the semi-finals are:
First Place, $2,000 award, STAN PILLMAN, University of Montana
Second Place, $1,500 award, KRISTI KECK, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Third Place, $1,000 award, ADAM RHEW, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Fourth Place, $750 award, BRIAN A. CHAPMAN, Pennsylvania State University
Fifth Place, $600 award, KYLEE MYERS, Temple University
The top five television finalists, qualifying for the semi-finals are:
First Place, $2,000 award, FLORENCE CHEN, Brigham Young University
Second Place, $1,500 award, LYDIA GARLIKOV, U. of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Third Place, $1,000 award, LAURA LIGGETT University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Fourth Place, $750 award, ANDREW WILLIAMSON, University of Maryland
Fifth Place, $600 award, ANDREA RAMEY, University of Missouri
The following is the list of additional award winners in radio. The schools of the top ten award winning finalists receive matching grants.

Sixth Place, $500 award, DANIELLE HAYNER, University of Maryland
Seventh Place, $500 award, CARRIE LYNNE MARCHESE, Arizona State University
Eighth Place, $500 award, MIKE DANIELS, Arizona State University
Ninth Place, $500 award, BEN STEWART, Northwestern University
Tenth Place, $500 award, TED LAND, University of Illinois

These students placed among the top 20 in radio and will receive award certificates:

STACE HALL, Brigham Young University, eleventh place
SCOTT B. COLBURN, Pennsylvania State University, twelfth place
JACKIE CONGEDO, University of Maryland, thirteenth place
K’LYNN SLOAN, University of Montana, fourteenth place
NIC HOCH, University of Alabama, fifteenth place-tie
JEFFREY PREVAL, Hofstra University, fifteenth place-tie
JESSICA LAUREN EAGLIN, University of Texas, Austin, seventeenth place-tie
ANDREA FRIEDMAN, Syracuse University, seventeeth place-tie
McKENZIE L. YORK, Western Kentucky University, nineteenth place
DORTHEA BRUMSEY, Western Kentucky University, twentieth place

The following is the list of additional award winners in television. The schools of the top ten award winning finalists receive matching grants.

Sixth Place, $500 award, BIGAD SHABAN, University of Florida
Seventh Place, $500 award, DARIEN CARROLL, Brigham Young University
Eighth Place, $500 award, KIM JOHNSON, University of Minnesota
Ninth Place, $500 award, IAN SCHWARTZ, Arizona State University
Tenth Place, $500 award, KIMBERLY M. BROWN, Syracuse University

These students placed among the top 20 in television and will receive award certificates:GRAEME MOORE, University of Southern Carolina, eleventh place
MICHAEL DEAN WOOTEN, Marshall University, twelfth place
RYAN RAICHE, Central Michigan University, thirteenth place-tie
TAMARA EVANS Western Kentucky University, thirteenth place-tie
YESENIA ESCALANTE, California State University, Northridge, fifteenth place-tie
GADI SCHWARTZ, New Mexico State University, fifteenth place-tie
JACKIE CAIN, West Virginia University, seventeenth place
PHILIP JONES, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, eighteenth place-tie
JENNA ROSS, University of Minnesota, eighteenth place-tie
MONTY ROBERSON, University of Maryland, eighteenth place-tie

University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill placed first in the Intercollegiate Broadcast Competition with the highest accumulated school points from Competitions I and II in radio and television. It is followed by: Brigham Young University; Arizona State University; Pennsylvania State University; Syracuse University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Western Kentucky University; University of Maryland; Northwestern University; University of Montana.
The judges, all professionals in radio and television, are: Terry Connelly, Senior Vice President & General Manager, The Weather Channel, Atlanta, GA; Felicia Middlebrooks, Morning Anchor & Correspondent, WBBM News Radio 780, Chicago, IL; and Tom Negovan, Anchor/Reporter, WGN-TV, Chicago, IL.

The 2005 – 2006 broadcast news competitions are held in member colleges and universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs. The Broadcast News Competition was added in 1988 to the Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program that for 46 years has included writing and news photography competitions, and now offers awards totaling more than $400,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.

Jan C. Watten, Program Director
415-543-6033, ext. 308