2009 – 2010 Television Broadcast News Winners

Of the record 120 entries received in the Features and News television competitions during the academic year, 10 finalists’ work qualified them for the semi-final round of judging. From that round, five television finalists were selected to participate in the Hearst National Television Broadcast News Championship in New York City.

The finalists arrived in New York on Tuesday, June 8th. That evening they met with the broadcast judges to receive their assignment: to find a story about security in the city in light of the recent attempted bombing of Times Square.

The story was to have a hard news angle, to include at least one reporter on-camera stand-up, and to range from one to two and a half minutes.

The judges received the completed entries by Friday morning for review. The winners were announced at the awards ceremony that evening. The first through third place winners were awarded scholarships of $5,000, $4,000, and $3,000 respectively and are featured below. The two finalists who earned $1,500 scholarship awards are: Toby Phillips from Arizona State University and Garrett Tenney from Brigham Young University. An additional award of $1,000 was given to Miles Doran for Best use of Television for News Coverage.