2009 – 2010 Radio Broadcast News Winners

Of the 61 entries received in the Features and Multimedia radio competitions during the academic year, 10 finalists’ submissions qualified them for the semi-final round of judging. From that round, five radio finalists were selected to participate in the Hearst National Radio Broadcast News Championship in New York City.

The finalists arrived in New York City on June 8th, and that evening they met with the broadcast judges to receive their assignment: to find a story about security in the city in light of the recent attempted bombing of Times Square.

The finalists’ radio packages were to include an anchor lead-in, a recorded wrap and a completed script to be presented as a piece for a New York City radio network’s morning drive segment. The judges expected to receive a hard news piece, ranging between one to two and a half minutes.

The judges received the completed entries by Friday morning for review. The winners were announced at the awards ceremony that evening. The first through third place winners were awarded scholarships of $5,000, $4,000, and $3,000 respectively and are featured below. The two finalists who earned $1,500 scholarship awards are: Logan Daniels from Brigham Young University and Will Gorham from University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. An additional award of $1,000 was given to Brandi Kruse for Best use of Radio for News Coverage.