2013 – 2014 Radio Broadcast News Winners

This year, one radio competition was held in the News & Features category. The top winners from those 52 entrants qualified to participate in the Hearst National Radio Broadcast News Championship in Washington, DC. The radio finalists were assigned the following story: How has the media/political landscape changed with the focus of issue and candidate debate moving to direct point-to-voter communication that bypasses journalists? How does this impact journalism today and your coverage of a divided nation? The finalists’ radio packages were to include an anchor lead-in, a recorded wrap and a completed script to be presented as a piece for a radio network’s morning drive segment. The judges expected to receive a news piece, ranging between one to two minutes.

The judges received the completed entries by Thursday morning for review. The winners were announced at the awards ceremony that evening. The first through third place winners were awarded scholarships of $5,000, $4,000, and $3, 000 respectively and are featured below. The two finalists who earned $1,500 scholarship awards are: Jerome Campbell, University of Southern California and Mitchel Skinner, University of Minnesota. An additional award of $1,000 was given to Charles J. Shelton for Best use of Radio for News Coverage selected from the monthly competition submissions.