2013 – 2014 Multimedia Winners

This was the fourth year of the multimedia Championship. From the 199 multimedia entries received in the four monthly competitions, five top winners qualified for the Championship in Washington, DC.

The finalists arrived in DC on Monday, June 2nd and immediately met with their judges to receive their assignment. They were asked to produce a 3-5 minute multimedia piece which addressed the following question: “What makes DC run?”

The judges received the completed entries by Thursday morning for review. The winners were announced at the awards ceremony that evening. The first through third place winners were awarded scholarships of $5,000, $4,000, and $3,000 respectively and are featured below. The two finalists who earned $1,500 scholarship awards are: Eric Shea, Western Kentucky University and Adam Wolffbrandt, Western Kentucky University. An additional $1,000 Multimedia Story of the Year Award was given to Samuel L. Gause, University of Missouri, for his story “Transitions in Flight” submitted in the monthly features competition.