Steering Committee

The competitions take place under the guidance of the Hearst Journalism Awards Steering Committee, which
consists of Journalism-Mass Communications administrators of ACEJMC-accredited universities. The program
depends on the Hearst Steering Committee to keep it abreast of changes in journalism education, and to help guide and give counsel. In this fast-changing field, keeping up requires skilled monitoring and expertise in
evaluating new practices, new tools and new thinking.

The program director and the steering committee meet twice a year at the summer and winter ASJMC

The 2021-2022 Hearst steering committee members are:

Susan King, Dean

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
School of Media & Journalism
Chair, Hearst Journalism Awards Steering Committee

Ann Brill, Dean

University of Kansas
William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications

Hub Brown, Associate Dean for Research, Creativity,
International Initiatives & Diversity

Syracuse University
S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications

Prabu David, Dean

Michigan State University
College of Communication Arts & Sciences

Marie Hardin, Dean

Pennsylvania State University
Dolad P. Bellisario College of Communications

Al Stavitsky, Dean

University of Nevada, Reno
Donald W. Reynolds School of Journalism and Center for Advanced Media Studies

David Zeeck

Retired Publisher
The (Tacoma) News Tribune, The Olympian, and The Bellingham Herald