In 1960, Randolph A. Hearst and his brother William R. Hearst, Jr. named the first program judges. The judges are professional journalists/editors whose valuable time and talents are generously volunteered to the program each year. Over the course of their three-year terms, they judge the work of thousands of students across the country. Judges are sent the entry materials and rate the work based on a point system. The assigned points are then sent to the Foundation to be compiled. The Foundation then ranks and awards the winning students. The following is the list of judges who evaluate the monthly and Championship entries in the writing, photojournalism, television, radio, and multimedia competitions of the 2017-2018 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. The Program thanks the judges for this immeasurable contribution to the future of journalism.

Writing Judges

Audrey Cooper

Editor in Chief
The San Francisco Chronicle, CA

David Zeeck

President and Publisher
The News Tribune, WA

Wendell Jamieson

Metro Editor
The News York Times, NY

Photojournalism Judges

Lisa Krantz

Staff Photographer
San Antonio Express-News, TX

Dai Sugano

Staff Photographer/Senior Multimedia Editor
The Mercury News, CA

Erin Lubin

Freelance Photographer, CA

Radio and Television Judges

Fred Young

Retired Senior Vice President, News
Hearst Television Inc., NY

Lloyd Siegel

former Vice President of News Partnerships
NBC News, NY

Julie Chin

News Director
KNX Radio, CA

Multimedia Judges

Kenny Irby

Independent Visual Consultant, FL

Mark Morris

Senior Editor/Multimedia
The Sacramento Bee, CA

Brian Storm

Founder, Executive Director
MediaStorm, NY