2022-23 Hearst Television Features Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Television Features Competition of the 2022-2023 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 92 entries from 54 schools submitted in the first of two television

First Place has been awarded to Christopher Will, a junior from University of Florida. Christopher wins a $3,000 award and qualifies for the National Television Championship which will be held in June 2023.

The second-through-fifth place finalists are:
Second Place, $2,000 award, Nicole Aponte, Syracuse University
Third Place, $1,500 award, Louise Rath, Syracuse University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Ophelie Jacobson, University of Florida
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Ryan Blank, Arizona State University

These finalists along with the top four from the second television competition qualify for a semi-final round where they will submit additional entries. From that competition, four finalists will be chosen to compete in the National Television Championship.

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Cameron Joiner, University of Oklahoma
Seventh Place, certificate, Julie Koharik, University of Missouri
Eighth Place, certificate, Zach Gershman, Pennsylvania State University
Ninth Place, certificate, Finn Carlin, University of South Carolina
Tenth Place, certificate, Harlee Hunsaker, Brigham Young University

Tied for first place in the Intercollegiate Broadcast Competition are the University of Florida and Syracuse University with the highest accumulated student points from the first of three broadcast news competitions.

They are followed by: University of Missouri; Arizona State University; University of Maryland; University of Oklahoma; Pennsylvania State University; University of South Carolina; Brigham Young University (tie); Colorado State University (tie).

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively, and will be announced after the completion of the audio and second television competition in April and presented at the National Championships in June.

The television judges are: Candy Altman, retired Vice President of News, Hearst Television; Holly Quan, Reporter/Anchor, KCBS Radio; Joe Rovitto, President, Clemensen & Rovitto LLC.

The 63rd annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program added broadcast journalism to the competitions in 1988. The program also includes five writing, two photojournalism and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. There are 105 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.