2022-23 Hearst Photojournalism I Winners Announced

San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Photojournalism News and Features Competition of the 2022-2023 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. The winning photojournalists were selected from 119 entries from 68 schools submitted in the first photo competition of the year.

First Place has been awarded to Annie Barker, a December 2022 graduate from Michigan State University. Annie wins a $3,000 scholarship and qualifies for the National Photojournalism Championship which will take place in San Francisco this June 2023.

The top qualifying four finalists, along with the top four finalists in the photo II competition, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging in April.  Four finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the National Photojournalism Championship.

The finalists who qualify for the semi-final round are:
Second Place, $2,000 award, Noah Riffe, Pennsylvania State University
Third Place, $1,500 award, Antonio Ibarra-Olivares, University of Montana *
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Ira Wilder, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Leslie Ostronic, Ohio University
Sixth Place, certificate, Devin Anderson-Torrez, Michigan State University

* Antonio Ibarra-Olivares was a spring 2022 graduate, and per our guidelines, cannot participate in the semi-final round. Devin Anderson-Torrez moves up to the semi-final round.

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The seventh-through-tenth place finalists are:

Seventh Place, certificate, Chad Cushing, University of Kansas

Eighth Place, certificate, Grace Smith, University of Iowa

Ninth Place, certificate, Gabi Broekema, Western Kentucky University

Tenth Place, certificate, Lauren Witte, University of Florida

Michigan State University is first place in the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest
accumulated student points in the first photo competition. They are followed by: University of Iowa;
Western Kentucky University; University of Montana (tie); Pennsylvania State University (tie); University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Arizona State University; Ohio University; University of Kansas; University of Florida (tie); University of Kentucky (tie).

The final Intercollegiate winners will be announced after the Photo II competition in March. The top three
intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively, which will be presented during the National
Championship in June.

The photojournalism judges are: Marcia Allert, Managing Photo Producer, Apple; Nicole Frugé, Director of Visuals, The San Francisco Chronicle; Danny Gawlowski, Assistant Managing Editor, The Seattle Times.

The 63rd annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program added photojournalism to the competitions in 1970. The
program also includes five writing, one audio, two television, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.  Currently, there are 105 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.