2020-21 Hearst Photojournalism I Winners Announced


San Francisco – The Hearst Foundation announces the winners in the Photojournalism Features and News
Competition of the 2020-2021 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. The winners in first photo competition of the year were selected from 117 entries submitted from 65 universities nationwide.

First Place and a $3,000 scholarship has been awarded to Silas Walker from Western Kentucky University. Silas graduated in May 2020 and per program guidelines is not eligible to participate in the Championship. The second-place winner, Nate Swanson from Ohio University, receives a $2,000 award and qualifies for the 2021 Championship.

The other top winners in this competition, along with the top finalists in the next photo competition, will submit additional photographs for the semi-final round of judging next April.  Finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the National Championship, along with writing, audio, television and multimedia finalists.  

The qualifiers for the semi-final round:
Third Place, $1,500 award, Chris Kohley, Western Kentucky University   
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Alexandria Skowronski, Ohio University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award,  Hope Davison, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Sixth Place, certificate, Noah Riffe, Pennsylvania State University

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The seventh-through-tenth place finalists are:
Seventh Place, certificate, Kenneth Ferriera, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Eighth Place, certificate, Sara Diggins, University of Montana
Ninth Place, certificate, Michael Clubb, University of Kentucky
Tenth Place, certificate, Christopher Day, University of Florida

Western Kentucky University  is in first place in the  Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first of two photo competitions held this year.
It is followed by:
Ohio University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (tie); University of Kentucky (tie); University of Montana; Pennsylvania State University; University of Florida; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Arizona State University;
Kent State University.  

The final Intercollegiate winners will be announced after the Photo II competition in April. The top three
intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

The photojournalism judges are: Marcia Allert, Director of Visual Journalism, The Dallas Morning News; Luis Rios,
Director of Photography, San Antonio Express-News; Mark Morris, Independent Visual Consultant.

The 61st annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program added photojournalism to the competitions in 1970.  The
program also includes five writing, one audio, two television, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.  There are 103 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to
participate in the Hearst competitions.