2020-21 Hearst Feature Writing Winners Announced


San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college feature writing have been announced in the 61st annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 103 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

150 feature writing entries from 79 universities were received in this competition.

First Place has been awarded to Madeleine Davison, from Syracuse University. Madeleine receives a $3,000 scholarship for her winning article titled “How Sports Culture Undermines Athletes Long After They Graduate” published in The 61% Project.

Syracuse University’s School of Journalism will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.

Madeleine Davison and Lorien MacEnulty were May 2020 graduates and per program guidelines, are not eligible to participation in the National Writing Championship. Katie Ann McCarver,  University of Iowa, qualifies to
participate in the 2021 Hearst National Writing Championship.

Other scholarship winners are:
Lorien MacEnulty,  Drake University, second place, $2,000 scholarship
Katie Ann McCarver,  University of Iowa, third place, $1,500 scholarship (Championship qualifier)
Anton Delgado,  Elon University, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship
Tatyana Tandanpolie,  New York University, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship
Eduardo Medina,  Auburn University, sixth place, certificate
Hannah Nuss,  Drake University, seventh place, certificate
Stephany Matat,  University of Florida, eighth place, certificate
George Stoia, University of Oklahoma, ninth place, certificate
Paula Kiley, California State University, Long Beach, tenth place, certificate

Drake University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the first of five writing competitions this year.
They are followed by: Syracuse University; University of Florida; University of Iowa; Elon University;
New York University (tie); Auburn University (tie); University of Oklahoma; University of Oregon;
California State University, Long Beach.

The final intercollegiate winners will be announced after the completion of the five writing competitions in June.

Judging the writing competitions this year are: Dwayne Bray, Senior Coordinating Producer/Enterprise Reporting Unit, ESPN; Larry Kramer, retired President and Publisher, USA Today; and Maria Reeve, Managing Editor, Houston Chronicle.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one audio, two television and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $700,000 in scholarships and grants annually.