2020-21 Hearst Multimedia Narrative Storytelling Winners Announced


San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Multimedia Narrative Storytelling Competition of the 2020-2021 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. There were 90 entries from 51 schools submitted in the first of four multimedia competitions held this academic year.

First Place has been awarded to Nash Consing, a senior from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Nash will receive a $3,000 scholarship for the winning multimedia piece “To My Future Employer.” Nash also qualifies to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards National Multimedia Championship which will be held this June.

The other top finalists are:
Second place, $2,000 award, Jing Feng, New York University
Third place, $1,500 award, Raj Paul Ghusar, San Francisco State University
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Jacob Moscovitch, University of Missouri
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Madeline Kraft, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

The sixth-through-tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Silas Walker, Western Kentucky University
Seventh Place, certificate, Mackenzie Behm, University of Florida
Eighth Place, certificate, Elsie Stormberg, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Ninth Place, certificate, Michelle Hanks, Western Kentucky University
Tenth Place, certificate, Sadie Brown, University of North Texas

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is in first place in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the first of four multimedia competitions.
They are followed by: Western Kentucky University; University of Missouri; New York University; San Francisco State University; University of Florida; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; University of North Texas; Syracuse University; California State University, Northridge.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively. The final intercollegiate winners will be announced after the completion of the all four multimedia competitions in May.

The multimedia judges are: Danese Kenon, Director of Video and Photography, Philadelphia Inquirer, PA; Jarrad Henderson, Senior Multimedia Producer – Investigative and Enterprise Video Team, USA Today, VA; Meredith Hogan, Founder and Director, Blue Heron Media, WA.

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 61st year, added multimedia to the competitions in 2010. The program also includes five writing, one audio, two television, and two photojournalism competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 103 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.