2018-19 Hearst Television News Winners Named


San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the Television News Competition of the 2018-2019 Hearst Journalism Awards Program. The winners were selected from 76 entries submitted from 42 schools nationwide.

First Place has been awarded to David Jones from University of Florida. David wins a $3,000 scholarship and automatically qualifies for the National Television Championship, which will be held in San Francisco this June.

The other top four winners in this competition, along with the top finalists from Television Competition One/Features will submit additional entries for a semi-final round of judging. Finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the Championship, along with writing, photo, radio and multimedia finalists.

The top four semi-finalists:
Second Place, $2,000 award, Storme Jones, University of Oklahoma
Third Place, $1,500 award, Mary Grace Scully, University Florida
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Bryce Newberry, Arizona State University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Emily Wakeman, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

The top five winning schools receive matching grants.

Sixth-through tenth place winners:
Sixth Place, certificate, Gabriella Bachara, Arizona State University
Seventh Place, certificate, Austin Kleber, University of Maryland
Eighth Place, certificate, Blake Sammann, University of Missouri
Ninth Place, certificate, Sydney Persing, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Tenth Place, certificate, Brandon Pelter, Pennsylvania State University

University of Florida has won the Intercollegiate Broadcast Competition with the highest accumulated student points from the one radio and two television competitions.

It is followed by: Arizona State University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Missouri; Pennsylvania State University; Syracuse University; University of Maryland; University of Texas, Austin; Elon University; University of Nevada-Reno.

The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively. These awards will be presented at the Intercollegiate Awards Presentation in San Francisco this June.

The television judges are: Julie Chin, News Director, KNX Radio, Los Angeles, CA; Lloyd Siegel, former Vice President of News Partnerships, NBC News, NY; and Fred Young, retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst Television Inc., Yardley, PA.

The 59th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Program, added broadcast news to the competitions in 1988. The program also includes five writing, one radio, two photo, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $700,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends. 104 universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.