2018-19 Hearst Sports Writing Winners Named


San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college sports writing were announced today in the 59th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 104 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

There were 135 entries from 76 schools received in the third writing competition of the academic year.

First Place has been awarded to Cody Nagel, from University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Cody receives a $3,000
scholarship for his winning article titled “Why Are Female Athletes Some of the Best Students on Campus?”
published in Hailvarsity.com.

Cody was a spring 2018 graduate, and per program guidelines is not eligible to participate in the 2019
Championship. Second-place winner Sarah Verschoor, Indiana University, advances to participate in the National Writing Championship held in San Francisco this June. Sarah receives a $2,000 scholarship for her winning story “A racist trustee’s name was taken off an IU gym. Supporters want Bill Garrett’s name on it to right history”
published in the Indiana Daily Student.

The journalism departments of all scholarship winners receive matching grants.

Third-to-tenth place winners:

Jed May, University of Georgia, third place, $1,500 scholarship
Ryan Clarke, Arizona State University, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship
Patrick Burns, Pennsylvania State University, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship
Anthony Poisal, Ohio University, sixth place, certificate of merit
Andy Kostka, University of Maryland, seventh place, certificate of merit
Ross Burkhart, University of Texas at Austin, eighth place, certificate of merit
Haley Kim, Syracuse University, ninth place, certificate of merit
Hannah Hoffmeister, University of Missouri, tenth place, certificate of merit

Indiana University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated student points in the first three writing competitions of the year. They are followed by: Pennsylvania State University;
Arizona State University; University of Oregon; Auburn University (tie); University of Maryland (tie);
University of Arkansas, Fayetteville; University of Missouri; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill;
University of Nebraska-Lincoln (tie); Southern Illinois University, Carbondale (tie).

The final intercollegiate writing winners will be announced after the completion of the five writing competitions and presented at the Intercollegiate Awards Presentation in San Francisco this June.

Judging the writing competitions this year are: Audrey Cooper, Editor in Chief, The San Francisco Chronicle; Dwayne Bray, Senior Coordinating Producer/Enterprise Reporting Unit, ESPN; and David Zeeck, former President and Publisher, The News Tribune, WA.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two
television and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $700,000 in scholarships and grants annually.