2015 Hearst Enterprise Reporting Winners Named

San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college enterprise writing were announced today in the 56th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, in which 108 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate. There were114 enterprise entries from 64 schools received in this competition.

First Place has been awarded to Will Drabold, a senior from Ohio University. Will is going to receive a $2,600 scholarship for his winning article titled “DSHS employees rarely pay a price for failing to protect foster children” published in The Seattle Times. Ohio University’s E.W. Scripps School of Journalism will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. Will also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship which will be held this June in San Francisco.

Other scholarship winners are:

Allison Mutnick, Northwestern University, second place, $2,000 scholarship

Michael Bodley, Elon University, third place, $1,500 scholarship

Alden Woods, Indiana University, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship

Megan Antonina Jula, Indiana University, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship

The sixth through tenth place winners receiving certificates of merit are:

Jonathan Capriel, University of Memphis, sixth place

Sam Schanfarber, University of Colorado, seventh place

Jon Banister, University of Maryland, eighth place

Kaelynn Knoernschild, Oklahoma State University, ninth place

Cuneyt Dil, American University, tenth place

Indiana University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition with the highest accumulated points from the first two writing competitions. They are followed by: Pennsylvania State University; Northwestern University; Arizona State University; University of Missouri; University of Iowa; Ohio University; Elon University; University of Maryland; University of Minnesota. 

Judging the writing competitions this year are: Nicole Carroll, Vice President/News and Editor, The Arizona Republic; Mike Leary, Senior Vice President and Editor, San Antonio Express-News; and David Zeeck, President and Publisher, The News Tribune.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two TV and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions. The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.


Leave a Reply