2014 Hearst Television Championship Qualifiers Named


The William Randolph Hearst Foundation has announced the five college television broadcast students who have been selected as finalists in the 54th annual Hearst Journalism Awards Championship.  They are the winners of the television I – features and television II- news competitions who submitted additional entries for a semi-final round.

The multimedia finalists qualifying for the Championship are:

Landon Dowdy, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Shayne Dwyer, Arizona State University

Omar Jimenez, Northwestern University

Matt Rascon, Brigham Young University

Brynne Whittaker, University of Missouri

These five winners, whose work was selected from 139 entries submitted, will participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program’s National Championships held June 2 – 6, 2014 in Washington, DC.  During the Championship, the television finalists along with finalists in writing, radio, multimedia and photojournalism will complete spot news assignments, vying for additional scholarship awards of up to $5,000.

The judges, all professionals in radio and television, are: Marci Burdick, Senior Vice President, Schurz Communications, Inc., Michawaka, IN; Edward Esposito, Vice President, Information Media, Rubber City Radio Group, Akron, OH; and Fred Young, retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst Television Inc., Yardley, PA.

There are 105 universities with accredited undergraduate journalism schools eligible to participate in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  The Journalism Awards Program is funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  The program awards up to $500,000 a year in scholarships, grants and stipends, and takes place under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication.


Contact: Jan C. Watten, program director

Leave a Reply